List of Prime Minister of India 1947 to 2018

The Prime Minister is the leader of the executive branch of the nation. The PM is also the Chief Adviser to President & head of the council of ministers. Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of Independent India and the current premier is Shri Narendra Modi.
Emblem of India.svg
This article is part of a series on the
politics and government of
Constitution and law[show]
Government of India[show]
Other countries Atlas
The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India. In India’s parliamentary system, the Constitution names the President as head of state de jure, but his or her de facto executive powers are vested in the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers. Appointed and sworn-in by the President, the Prime Minister is usually the leader of the party or alliance that has a majority in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India’s Parliament

Since 1947, India has had fourteen Prime Ministers, fifteen including Gulzarilal Nanda who twice acted in the role. The first was Jawaharlal Nehru of the Indian National Congress party, who was sworn-in on 15 August 1947, when India gained independence from the British.

S.No. Name Party Duration Appointed by
1. Jawaharlal Nehru
Indian National Congress (INC) 15 Aug 1947 to
27 May 1964
Lord Mountbatten & Rajendra Prasad
2 Gulzarilal Nanda (acting)
Indian National Congress (INC) 27 May 1964 to
09 June 1964
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri
Indian National Congress (INC) 09 June 1964 to
11 Jan 1966
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
4 Gulzarilal Nanda (acting)
Indian National Congress (INC) 11 Jan 1966 to
24 Jan 1966
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
5 Indira Gandhi
Indian National Congress (INC) 24 Jan 1966 to
24 March 1977
V.V. Giri
6 Morarji Desai
Janta Party 24 March 1977 to
28 July 1979
B.D. Jatti (acting President)
7 Charan Singh
Indian National Congress (INC) 28 March 1979 to
14 Jan 1980
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
8 Indira Gandhi
Indian National Congress (INC) 14 Jan 1980 to
31 Oct 1984
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
9 Rajiv Gandhi
Indian National Congress (INC) 31 Oct 1984 to
02 Dec 1989
Zail Singh
10 Vishwanath Pratap Singh
Janata Dal (National Front) 02 Dec 1989 to
10 Nov 1990
R. Venkataraman
11 Chandra Shekhar
Samajwadi Janata Party with INC 10 Nov 1990 to
21 June 1991
R. Venkataraman
12 Pamulaparti Venkata Narasimha Rao
Indian National Congress (INC) 21 June 1991 to
16 May 1996
R. Venkataraman
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Bharatiya Janata Party 16 May 1996 to
01 June 1996
Shankar Dayal Sharma
14 Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda
Janata Dal (United Front) 1 June 1996 to
21 April 1997
Shankar Dayal Sharma
15 Inder Kumar Gujral
Janata Dal
(United Front)
21 April 1997 to
19 March 1998
Shankar Dayal Sharma
16 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Bharatiya Janata Party(NDA) 19 March 1998 to
22 May 2004
K. R. Narayanan
17 Manmohan Singh
Indian National Congress(UPA) 22 May 2004 to
26 May 2014
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam & Pratibha Patil
18 Narendra Modi
Bharatiya Janata Party(NDA) 26 May 2014 to
Till Date
Pranab Mukherjee

Related posts

Leave a Comment